General Discussion Triathlon Talk » stability sneakers as harmful to body Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-05-12 11:15 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
, Connecticut
Subject: stability sneakers as harmful to body
I know that this is a debate that has gone on for decades. I've heard of it on and off but just read Born to Run.

Any positive sneaker stories? My teenage son is very into lifting weights and running to stay in shape. I just encouraged him to go to the specialty sneaker store with me where they taped him running and found him to be a pronator and got him into a pair of stability shoes. Now I'm feeling remorse. Did I just do something terrible to him? Was he just fine and now he'll get injuries due to the shoes? Am I overthinking this? I'm really worried.

Edited by MuscleMomma 2017-05-12 11:16 AM

2017-05-12 1:06 PM
in reply to: MuscleMomma

User image

Subject: RE: stability sneakers as harmful to body
I am no expert and of course represent only a single data point (i.e. myself.) I went through the taping/assessment process at my LRS almost 8 years ago. Although I was pretty much right on the border of needing that type of support shoe (and only based on one leg at that), I went with a stability model anyway. I have trained a reasonable volume for my age (mid 50s) and done multiple 13.1s, six 26.2s, three 70.3s and two 140.6s, all with the stability shoes. No injuries. I loved reading Born to Run, but I suspect your son has a much higher chance of getting injured running bare foot or in Vibrams than in a stability shoe. Keep in mind that asking medical advice from folks on a running forum is fun, but asking advice from a medical professional is typically wiser. IMHO you should try to find a doctor (or maybe a PT) that runs and treats runners and listen to her/his advice. Good luck!
2017-05-12 1:16 PM

User image

Oviedo, Florida