General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Pool swim versus Triathlon-Teaching Methodology Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-06-16 11:43 AM

Subject: Pool swim versus Triathlon-Teaching Methodology
Wanted to put something out for discussion.

I have been swimming for 2 1/2 years now and I am 58. It has mostly been all uphill, but I am getting there.

Question: Do you think that there is a disconnect in teaching methods for pool events versus triathlon? I started to listen to the Tower 26 podcast awhile back. One thing that struck me right away was that they were basically contradicting a lot of stuff that a coach tried to teach me when I was starting. And to me, what they said made sense.
Examples: Long swims are very important, as are OWS's (most triathlon swims are much longer than 2 minutes, most pool swims are less) Early vertical forearm is not the most critical thing. Breathe, breathe, breathe, as much as you want. They indicated how Andy Potts breathes every stroke. They questioned how much value there is in getting your stroke count down to 17 from 20 in a 25 meter swim. Pull buoys are not the most evil invention ever made. Used with a snorkel to train for tautness, alignment, they are very useful (their words). They question the output versus value of the kick, etc etc You get the idea. I really have gotten a lot out of their episodes.

I'm starting to think that a high school or college swim coach is not the same person at all as a triathlon swim coach. (unless that high school coach also does tri's) Yet when we go for lessons, it is usually a regular swim coach we see.

Opinions?

2017-06-16 11:49 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Champion
, Minnesota
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Pool swim versus Triathlon-Teaching Methodology

I absolutely agree with this.  Although I would insert "not likely to be":

I'm starting to think that a high school or college swim coach is not the same person at all as a triathlon swim coach.

Very different goals.