General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Power Meter for Newbie Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-07-28 12:54 PM

User image

Subject: Power Meter for Newbie
This is my first year. I've been training steadily and feel good. I have done a lot of biking because that was the area I had the least experience in. I got an old 2005 Trek Equinox 7 aluminum tri bike from a friend with an ultegra/105 mix set. He gave it to me for free I just had to spend about $150 for a tune-up and new cassette and chain. I really don't want to spend more money on a power meter than I did on the bike. Do I really need to test my wattage? Overall I have done 1 sprint tri and 4 brick sessions. I feel that I have been able to gauge my effort and strength based off my HR monitor relatively well. I was able to pull off a 21.5 mph split for my sprint tri and then run an easy negative split on my run (probably too easy). I'm not satisfied with just finishing I want to beat a lot of people, like top 10-20% in my 30-34 AG at Chicago OD. I only have 4 weeks left and not sure if I should go for it. After my sprint I realized that my strengths are definitely my swim and bike, I was 7th/350 on my swim with a 7:31 500M pace and I was 30/350 on the bike overall. My run was slower but I definitely had more left I didn't push. I know I need to push harder to place higher, is HR sufficient or should I go for the power meter?

2017-07-28 1:09 PM
in reply to: jnuger

Subject: RE: Power Meter for Newbie
You don't need a power meter now. HR will be a good training tool for now. It is a useful tool to train with, but for a sprint not needed.
2017-07-28 1:35 PM

At this point I don't think you need one. Go off HR and perceived effort. If you get more serious and/or into longer distance events then it might be something to consider.