General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Issue catching my breath all of a sudden Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-08-30 12:02 PM

Subject: Issue catching my breath all of a sudden
Hey everyone! Wondering if anyone has experienced what's recently been happening to me. I have been doing triathlons for about 5 years now. Everything from sprint to a full Ironman. For some reason starting this year with a sprint race, I have been unable to catch my breath at the start of my swim. It doesn't seem to matter the race distance either, it's happened in a couple sprints and two half Ironman's. I'm not clear as to what is happening all of a sudden. In the two 70.3 races i had to swim for a buoy or two with my head up and then forced my face back in the water and was fine the rest of the way. I also did a warm up for one of them and it was perfectly fine, no breathing problems. Then when the race started it happened again! It seems so strange that i didn't have this for years when i was new at this but i do now. Just wondering if anyone else has had this happen and maybe if/how they sorted through it. It's slowing me down

2017-08-30 12:50 PM
in reply to: ameltz

User image

Naperville, Illinois
Subject: RE: Issue catching my breath all of a sudden
I have only done 4 triathlons, but I have experienced this.

I have to force myself to slow down and stay laser-focused on my form as opposed to the excitement of the race and how close I am to swim out. I focus on gliding long and making sure I'm not sucking in too much air.

I also noticed that when I sight too often, or hold my head up too high when sighting, it tends to affect my breathing substantially. I made this realization during the Chicago last weekend and had to force myself to sight less often and with my eyes JUST above the water, but no higher. It seemed to make a big difference for me.
2017-08-30 3:19 PM

I hear you on this.
Had...occasionally have this.