General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-10-21 6:37 PM

Subject: Hello!
Hi All, thought I'd drop in a quick hello. I've been around the site a bit in the past but not engaged. thought I'd say hello and introduce myself. I'm in the Bay Area and just started triathlon training this past season. I started training in April to get back into shape, worried that I was passing the point of no return (42 yo) and having always wanted to do this. I've always battled a lot of injuries whenever I tried running and really struggled with it, so I thought if I balanced it with swimming and biking. I had a pretty great early summer, my first swim in April was 333 yards in 15 minutes and I was cooked. Unfortunately I had surgery in August and hurt my foot (unrelated to training) and really took steps back, but am picking back up now. I did manage to finish the Oakland Triathlon in late August and was pretty happy with placing basically 10/21in my age group. Honestly, finishing that race on a bad foot in that time was one of the best feelings of accomplishments I've ever had. definitely caught the bug.

I signed up with a friend to do IM 70.3 Santa Rosa in July and am really excited for the training this season. I'm taking this fall now to just build back a solid low mileage stable base of running and swim technique (I've managed to get my distance times to 2:00/100y but I'm fighting the water).

So, that's my story. excited for this next season to come.

A quick side question for anyone with experience... I want to do an Olympic event before the 70.3. Is 4 weeks as a test event too close to the 70.3 to be effective? Should I do something earlier? I was hoping to find something nearby in early-mid June as a tune-up but the only event is late June and I'm worried it won't give me enough recovery time for the IM 70.3 (last weekend of July). thanks!

Aaron

2017-10-22 8:04 AM
in reply to: 0

User image