General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Snorkel-breathing Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-11-16 9:19 AM

Subject: Snorkel-breathing
Hi all,
I know there are probably a million threads on this, but I wanted to see if someone could offer specific advice.

I have been swimming for about 3 years. (Adult onset). I always struggled with sinking legs, and the PB was my friend. Lately, I have been using a snorkel to develop a good feel for the water, my tautness and alignment, and catch, pull etc.

During the use of the snorkel, I made a discovery. I can swim all I want with it and my legs don't sink. Also...I feel that I breathe a lot more, which makes it so much easier to go longer.

Now, before you state the obvious (that I am lifting head too high without snorkel), when I use the PB, I practice keeping one eye submerged while breathing and looking back towards shoulder. So, I think I am keeping head low enough, but when I don't use snorkel, I don't breathe enough, and legs start sinking. It is weird that I can swim a 400 with a snorkel, and only about 100 without. Also, I started using the snorkel to practice the 2 beat kick.

Any advice out there??
Thanks!

2017-11-16 11:38 AM
in reply to: Burchib

Subject: RE: Snorkel-breathing

The issue might be your stroke rate and breathing cycle without the snorkel. 

If your stroke rate is low and you breath on every other stroke as most people do, you might simply not be getting enough air to feel comfortable in the water at moderate efforts. This is because your swim-specific muscular endurance in your arms are too weak to keep up a faster stroke rate and thus the problem is compounded when you breath on every other stroke, but solved when you put on a snorkel thus allowing you to breath whenever you want.