General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Understanding shoes for cycling and pedals for a beginner triathlete Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-11-19 1:17 PM

Subject: Understanding shoes for cycling and pedals for a beginner triathlete
Hi all
i'm new to triathlons, coming from a running background. I know I ned to buy shoes for cycling during racing and training but I'm very confused by this whole world of cycling shoes and pedals. I'm doing a half ironman next year so yeah, need to learn about these....

Where do I even start? what's the difference between cleats, clipless pedals and clip-on pedals? What kind of cycling shoes do I need for long-distance triathlons? What kind of pedals do I look for? Sorry, this might be so basic, but I want to get my head round this in time for Black Friday sales ha ha and also on a more serious note, I need to get some to start training in and then train in.

Thank you all in advance!

2017-11-20 9:50 AM
in reply to: runner_tryingtotri

User image

Master
Overland Park, KS
Subject: RE: Understanding shoes for cycling and pedals for a beginner triathlete
Here's a pretty good summary of the different pedal types. All of these are in what we call the "clipless" category even though all require "clipping in".

Probably the most common in road/triathlon cycling is the Shimano SPD SL which is what I use.

I know a lot of road cyclists that use the Speedplay pedals.

The Shimano SPD one-sided are typically used for mountain biking but you'll also see that type of pedal on spin bikes at the gym, which makes that choice somewhat flexible. The other types listed are less common. I see the Look Keo pedals on road bikes but the Shimano's SPD SL's are the most common.

http://www.cyclingweekly.com/fitness/bike-fit/best-clipless-pedals-...

I also suggest visiting a bike shop and ask them to show you the different types and how they work.
2017-11-20 9:52 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Pennsylvania