General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tri Training Nutrition Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-09-14 9:35 AM

Subject: Tri Training Nutrition
Morning Ya'll

I am on a calorie / nutrtion program called Body Bug. I wear a calorie counter on my arm and log everything that goes into my mouth daily. The program details a breakdown of protein, carbs, fat, salt, calories etc daily. I am using this to get to a target weight of 175lbs and 12% body fat.

I started a cardio / weight program in April of this year. 210lbs and 24% body fat, 38" waist. I am now at 183, 15% body fat and 33" waist. This Sept I started training for my first Sprint Tri. I am now running more outside, biking and swimming. My weekly time is about 7 hours total.

Now for a question - My first sprtin tri is Oct 7th. I am wondering what foods are good pre race. Should I be increasing salt intake, carbs, protein????

For breakfast I usually have a protein shakes or egg whites with english muffins (dry) with fruit, a wrap with egg whites and chicken breast or granola cereal. Lunch is usually a sandwhich with fruit and a raw veggie or sushi. Dinner is usually a home cooked meal or fish( mahi, tuna or salmon), chicken( grilled or roasted) or pork with veggies, wild rice, sweet potatoes or salad. I average 30% protein, 20% fat and 50% carbs daily.

I like sports drinks( gatorade etc.....) but mainly drink water with lemon juice ( my addiction is olives and lemons...... Never tried GU. I also like fig newtons, bananas and all other fruits.

Any suggestions from the seasoned tri athletes out there?

Thanks

KJ in Naples

2006-09-14 3:23 PM
in reply to: #540867

User image

Champion
Subject: RE: Tri Training Nutrition

The article Pre Race Nutrition should sum this up nicely.  Also, don't be changing your morning routine - on race day especially.  It's not worth it.  If your morning routine has been working, don't try to 'fix' it.