General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Interesting article on fatigue Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-07-30 7:11 AM

User image

Expert
Colchester, CT
Subject: Interesting article on fatigue
I came across this article the other day. http://blogs.salon.com/0002729/2004/03/22.html
You have to scroll down the link a bit to get to it. After reading the article I'm just wondering if there is a difference between fatigue (which the article seems to say is all in your mind, and bonking. I know from personal experience a few times that bonking is definitely not a psychological thing. Food for thought

Chris

2004-07-30 8:28 AM
in reply to: #41775

User image

Veteran
Philadelphia, PA
Subject: RE: Interesting article on fatigue
Interesting article Chris. Now, I am no scientist but I do have a close relationship with someone who has Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and am involved with the CFIDS Association of America, the leading non-profit organization in search of a cause and cure. I have read several articles similar to that one and can assure you that fatigue is not purely a psychological thing.

I too have experienced bonking and would take that pain any day over having to live CFS, which is an awful disease that not a whole lot is known about.

For more info, visit www.cfids.org
2004-07-30 9:11 AM

User image

Champion
Fairport, NY
Any time a physical condition is described as being "psychlogical" , "psychosomatic" or "in your head", a good dose of scepticism is in order. This frequently means that the person making the statement can't find a physical cause so they assume that there can not be one. Both my wife and my mother-in-law have had successful corrective abdominal surgery for problems that were "in their head".

Edited by marmadaddy 2004-07-30 9:13 AM
2004-07-30 9:19 AM

User image

Elite Veteran
Smyrna, Georgia
Subject: Great Article!