General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Marking progress - or lack of progress Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-11-11 11:24 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Colorado
Subject: Marking progress - or lack of progress
I started playing this game about a year ago. Last fall I did the sprint 16 week 2X training plan, which at the time seemed tough. Then in then in the spring, I did the olympic 16 week 2X training plan. I'll admit that I eventually dropped the swim (I hate swimming) and turned the running in to trail running. Still, I did the times. Now, I'm in my third month of the sprint 16 week 2X training again, planning the same transition to olympic. This time around the sprint seems relatively easy.

Before I started last year, I got a Suunto T6 HRM and captured a baseline. I ran on a treamill at 6.0 MPH and 2% incline for 30 minutes (5 minute warm up/cool down). I loaded this into the software and saved it for future comparisons. I did this again in December of last year and my heart rate had dropped for the duration of the check. Today, I did the same again, but now my heart rate is actuall HIGHER throughout the test!! And, I still have the cardiac drift throughout. See the attached picture.

On to my questions:

I anticipate the fluctuation up/down in heart rate throughout is not unusual and is probably related to the specific machine I was on, how well recovered I am on that day, the phase of the moon, and whether I was watching the news or cartoons. Random variation. But shouldn't I have seen an improvement over a year??

My resting heart rate before i started was around 65 and now it is down to 50-55. Definite improvement, but why am I not seeing gains in the event test?

What does it take for the cardiac drift to disappear? I expect this at first as I was new to aerobic training, but now, a year later, it is still there.

I feel like I've wasted my time and effort.

-Kirk

Edited by KirkD 2006-11-11 11:26 AM

(HRM.jpg)

Attachments