General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Newbie - Scared of the swim Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-01-31 9:56 AM

User image

Expert
Chicagoland
Subject: Newbie - Scared of the swim
Hi I am 39 yo male. Married, 1 son. I am new to triathlons. Sister-in-law did one for charity. St. Anthony's in St. Petersburg so now I am doing it this year. I am athletic but about 20 pounds out of shape. The problem I have is the swim. It just scares me that I am going to drown. I know I won't but I have too much at stake (donations for the charity) that I feel like I will fail. I have three months to go. Tell me it's not so bad!

2007-01-31 11:22 AM
in reply to: #673986

User image

Master
Athens, Ga.
Subject: RE: Newbie - Scared of the swim
It's not so bad! And you can do it. If you have any specific swim questions, you're welcome to post them on Triathlon Talk. Give specifics and you'll get lots of answers!
2007-01-31 12:42 PM

Master
Charlotte, NC

It's not bad and with practice gets better and better.  I couldn't complete a lap without huffing and puffing a few months ago.  Now I can go 30 minutes straight (~1400 yards) and this mornings 800 yard planned swim seemed too short. 

Lots of good advice on here.  Most common for swim is to get a coach (even for a few lessons) and/or get the Total Immersion book/dvds.

Welcome to BT.

2007-01-31 2:08 PM

User image

Master
Winder, GA

First, welcome to the site! Second, how's your swimming background? Any prior experience? How comfortable are you in the water? Do you have access to a pool, lessons, master's program and/or the Total Immersion stuff? (Lots of questions in one sentence, sorry!) Your current swim fitness and experience is going to help decide your best course of action with your swim.......