General Discussion Triathlon Talk » BEGINNER IN NEED OF BIKE ADVICE - THANK YOU Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-08-21 7:49 PM

User image

Regular
New York City
Subject: BEGINNER IN NEED OF BIKE ADVICE - THANK YOU
I am a 20 year old in good to very good who likes to push myself athletically and decided i want to try a triathlon perhaps. The hardest part is choosing a bike though. For the moment i dont plan to take it very seriously, only an intermediate goal of small triathlons, im a college student so im looking for a very cheap bike and i would possibly like it to have more practical uses like riding around on my campus. After educating myself as miuch as possible i thought i was pretty set on getting some sort of performance hybrid bike, most likely the trek 7200FX for $360. However, after going to another shop i was alerted to the fact that hybrid bikes have smaller cranksets and that if i were to race with a hybrid i might max out my speed relatively easily and wish i could have been able to push myself more. But considering i am a beginner who doesnt have incredibly serious ambitions i dont know how much this matters. I greatly appreciate anyones thoughts and advice on this topic and look forward to joining the triathlete community.

2004-08-21 9:37 PM
in reply to: #51393

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
Subject: RE: BEGINNER IN NEED OF BIKE ADVICE - THANK YOU