General Discussion Triathlon Talk » swimming technique/books about swimming Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-07-08 4:00 PM

User image

Master
Kirkland, WA
Subject: swimming technique/books about swimming
I am going to be doing my first triathlon in the end of july, and the swim is a concern to me! i have worked on my swimming a little bit w/a friend, to get some tips and i was wondering if you guys have any feedback on books about swimming - mainly technique. i've seen some stuff about immerison swimming? i would like to get some personal coaching - but for the next couple months, i don;t know how it would workout (plus i'm a poor college student!). Also, i seem to be having a problem where my feet fall down lower then the rest of my body - my friend who was helping me helped me w/my stroke which helped even me out some - but it still feels like a struggle to stay near the surface, any suggestions on this? thanks!!

2007-07-08 5:17 PM
in reply to: #876425

User image

Pro
McKinney, TX
Subject: RE: swimming technique/books about swimming
Total Immersion Swimming is the book you're looking for. I've also heard great things about the DVD that goes along with. I only have the book.
2007-07-08 6:20 PM

User image

Master
Denver
Check out triswimcoach.com

There is an inexpensive book, and accompanying videos that are designed expressly for those of us noobs trying to improve in triathlon swimming! There are articles by Kevin at triswimcoach on this site that help too.
2007-07-08 6:23 PM

User image

Veteran
Oceanside