General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Plantar Fasciitis Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2007-07-20 3:00 AM

User image

Tauranga, New Zealand
Subject: Plantar Fasciitis
Anyone have any personal experience of this condition? I recently developed it and have read as much as I can on the subject (I am a doctor BTW) but can't find a good answer to my main question - can training through this make the condition worse? Common sense would suggest it would, but has anyone any expert knowledge, or personal experience to share?John

2007-07-20 5:19 AM
in reply to: #893855

User image

Master
Loughborough, England
Subject: RE: Plantar Fasciitis

There was a thread with lots of ideas here.

One other thing that I don't think that was mentioned is that when icing a better option than frozen peas is to put loads of ice cubes in a bag with some water then put your foot in it.

2007-07-20 5:34 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
northeast Ohio

Had it a couple years ago.  All I can tell you is what my sports orthopod told me when I asked about running.  He said if I can stand the pain, then go ahead an run.  Running would not cause any permanent damage.  Now what that meant was, if I could run without limping/breaking form.  Also I did take a month off of running and when I started back, I started at 50% of my previous volume and built from there.  What I found was after the acute stage and when I got back to running, the more I ran, the better it got.   Plus of course I did all the stretching, icing and wore "The Sock" at night.

Different docs may have different opinions, but that's what mine told me.

2007-07-20 7:19 AM

User image

Master
St. Louis
I was never formally diagnosed with it, but I had some SEVERE foot pain which I self diagnosed as probably plantar fascitis. I am a doctor from the college of Web M.D. I basically took 3 months off of running, and got custom orthotics. Since then, no problems.