Other Resources My Cup of Joe » Best place in the World??? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2007-08-25 5:47 PM

User image

Tallahassee
Subject: Best place in the World???
I am a teacher and I am planning to take a trip for the month of July 2008 somewhere in the world. I want to go to some amazing place but I dont know where I should go. So give me some ideas, what is the best place you have ever been (not just somewhere you would want to stay for a few days but to actually live there for a month). I think Switzerland or Austria would be really cool but I only speak English so Im worried about being there for a month with NO language background. I also thought about Vancouver, its closer to home (Denver) but I am really open to ANYWHERE....

While money is not a huge factor, I am a teacher....

Edited by jbillfsu 2007-08-25 6:02 PM

2007-08-25 6:58 PM
in reply to: #940259

Pro
Subject: RE: Best place in the World???
Ok, I've spent quite a bit of time in a few places, but the appeal of each depends on the person. If you're looking for a city, I'd pick Amsterdam or Paris, but both of those can be pricey.

If you're looking for an experience that would take you out of your world (but not too far), I would suggest touring Thailand. You could spend a week or two on the island Ko Pha Ngan, cruise up the coast by train or bus, hit Bankok for a couple of days and then head North to Chiang Mai/Chian Rai and turning around at Mae Hong Son. If you are amenable to backpacking, your biggest expense will be the flight. It is a very easy country to travel in, quite safe and every week will reward you with new experiences. Like any place, you need to be aware of the scammers who might try to fool you out of your money, but overall it is very safe.

Other possibilities include Broome, Western Australia. July is the perfect time to go.

It really depends what kind of experience you're aiming for.
2007-08-25 7:07 PM

User image

Champion