General Discussion Triathlon Talk » HR zone questions...trouble staying in zones Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-11-16 10:03 AM

User image

Expert
Virginia
Subject: HR zone questions...trouble staying in zones
I recently started training on here with a training program to get ready for a sprint or super sprint distance for next year. I'm not in the best shape of my life, but I've been exercising pretty regularly for the last two years, save 3 months after a knee injury. I've lost quite a bit of weight (30 lbs) and am still working to reach the end goal (around another 50 lbs). I wear a HRM when exercising. Anyway, the program often tells me to stay within 70-75% of my max HR from the 220-age equation, which ends up being the 135-145 range. I haven't been able to stay in that range at all. My most comfortable pace puts me at about 160 and when I go hard, I get to high 170/low 180 range. On the bike, to keep it at 140, I was barely peddling. My resting HR is in the 70s.

With that said...I am wondering am I doing myself a disservice in the long run by paying more attention to doing what the exercise is and kind of ignoring the HR? Should I invest in the testing to find out my personal max HR to find out if I really am overexerting myself during my workouts? Or since I'm just a beginner in the sport (and to doing a structured program) is this something I really don't need to worry about.

Thanks for any advice you may have.
Kim

2007-11-16 10:09 AM
in reply to: #1056843

User image

Subject: RE: HR zone questions...trouble staying in zones

There is about a 1 in 20 chance that the 220 thing is accurate for you.

Here is a good link to ck out.

HR Zones: 220-Age - the TRUTH!

2007-11-16 10:11 AM
in reply to: #1056857

Champion
South Jersey
2007-11-16 10:12 AM

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member

Read this:

http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/discussion/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=25733&start=1