General Discussion Triathlon Talk » sore shoulder Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-12-19 2:37 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: sore shoulder
I just starting swimming a few months ago and since then have been hitting the pool usually 3x a week for about an hour to hour and a half. I've been training with a buddy who is coaching me the right way to swim since im a total newb swimmer. Over the last month my right shoulder has been a little sore, it's nothing crazy just sore when I do certain motions but fine when I do others. Usually if it's sore i'll take a few days off from swimming and it's fine, but today I had to cancel my lesson cause it's been bothering me for 3 days and I don't wanna make it worse. Is this normal for beginners? should I swim less?

thanks

2007-12-19 4:58 PM
in reply to: #1110301

User image

Master
Tyler, TX
Subject: RE: sore shoulder

It could be a matter of overtraining for your level, but more likely due to swim technique that needs improvement. 

Take a few days off to rest the shoulder.  Then, assuming your buddy is a good swimming teacher, have him look at your stroke and see what you might be doing wrong.  Worry about technique (ie, do drills) and maintaining good technique (ie, don't swim too fast or too long) until you're swimming without shoulder issues.

Good luck!

2007-12-19 5:22 PM

User image

Master
Harvard, Illinois

I have lived with shoulder problems for over 20 years. So I have a little experience. It could be from your swimming. If your crossing your arm over your center line as you swim, if your using paddles, or if you are trying to do to much to quickly. It could several other things swimming related.