Canadian Triathlon Forum Ontario » Looking to buy an inexpensive, small, and entry-level bicycle Rss Feed  
Moderators: Silver_wlf, alicefoeller Reply
2007-12-31 8:14 AM

Subject: Looking to buy an inexpensive, small, and entry-level bicycle
Hello everyone!

I am very new to the world of triathlons...I have not competed in one yet... I am hoping to compete in one in the summer of 2008

I am about 5 feet tall and I am looking to buy an entry-level road bike. I live in Toronto, Ontario. Anyone out there selling a bike? I am willing to spend about $500. I realize that to some of you that sounds really cheap and unrealistic, but I am really not trying to break the bank. I am just looking to "tri" something new!

Thank you for tips or words of advice you can offer.

2007-12-31 1:10 PM
in reply to: #1123984

User image

Veteran
Maryland
Subject: RE: Looking to buy an inexpensive, small, and entry-level bicycle
My friend's daughter got a motobecane bike off ebay. It was aluminum, had aero bars, spd pedals and tiagra components. It was $497 plus $40 shipping, since it is by mail you would have to put it together yourself or take it to the LBS.

Good luck, hope you find the bike you need.

Larry
2008-01-03 1:01 PM

Toronto
I wish you the best of luck on your quest. I'm 4'11" and I had a brutal time finding a bike that fit me. I'm doing my first tri this year, so I'm not even going to look for a racing bike yet...I'm going to stick with the hybrid that I have, and if I become hooked...then the new challenge is on.

My biggest challenge was trying to find a shop that would even make the effort to see if any manufacturers made bikes to fit me. I did pay more than $500 in the end.
2008-01-05 9:15 AM

Yeah Crys,

I am starting to think that it may come to that...

Someone's sent me this link:

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/miragesport.htm

It's a 44cm frame bike and the price seems alright. But then the exchange, taxes and the shipping needs to be added...