General Discussion Triathlon Talk » IT Band Wrap - good or a waste of money? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-02-04 2:35 PM

New user
Subject: IT Band Wrap - good or a waste of money?
I did my first half marathon back in November. While training for it I noticed that once I hit mile 9 my right knee started hurting. Fast forward to race day and yep, on my last mile to mile and a half my right leg completely seized up. I managed to stretch and eventually walk and then after some time run (hobble?) across the finish line. Classic IT band problem I have been told by many folks.

Since then I have been stretching daily or almost daily - flexibility is NOT my problem but I'm doing it regardless. I also started using the therabands to strengthen gluts, etc. per the numerous articles I have read on the subject. I've been doing that for 2 months, give or take.

I can run short distances fairly comfortably but even with all the stretching and strength exercises once I start to hit the longer (for me) miles it starts hurting. I tried to do 7 miles last week and ended up walking yet again for probably a mile. While I realize that this just might take some more time I'm getting somewhat frustrated and wondered if there was anything else I could do.

Does the IT Band Wrap work? Is it a good thing or bad thing? I don't want to exacerbate the problem but if it can help me stabilize my knee I would love to give it a try. I will keep up the other activity as well as I don't view this as the "solution", just something that might help me get to the other side of this problem. Has anyone on the forum used them and if so, what were your results?

2014-02-04 3:27 PM
in reply to: kmstig

User image

Subject: RE: IT Band Wrap - good or a waste of money?