BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Ultramike's Group - CLOSED Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply
2008-01-02 12:44 PM

User image

Veteran
Cloverdale, BC
Subject: Ultramike's Group - CLOSED

NAME: Ultramike / Mike

STORY: I'm a 33-year-old software developer, living in Cloverdale, British Columbia, Canada.  I've completed 1 Ironman, with a sub-11 hour finish.  I've also completed 3 marathons and 5 ultramarathons.

FAMILY STATUS: I'm in the middle of a divorce, and I'm engaged and living with my fiance.  I have 2 kids (ages 4 and 8) who live with me on weekends, and my fiance has a 4-year-old who lives with us full time. 

CURRENT TRAINING: My 2008 season will be mostly focussed on running.  My primary goal for the season is to run a 3:10 marathon and qualify for Boston. 

2007 RACES:

- UBC Sprint Triathlon
- Vancouver Half Marathon

- Cultas Lake Olympic Triathlon
- Oliver Half Iron
- Ironman Canada (10:51:53 finish)
- Royal Victoria Marathon

2008 RACES: 

- January: Vancouver New Years Day Fat A$s 50k (done)
- February: Vancouver First Half / Half Marathon 
- March: UBC Sprint Triathlon
- April: Vancouver Sun Run 10k
- May: Vancouver Marathon (Boston attempt #1)
- June: Oliver Half Iron (sub 4:59:59 goal)

The rest of the year will depend what happens in May at the Vancouver Marathon. If I qualify for Boston in May, I plan a summer and fall of Ultrarunning, including a 50 mile trail race and a 100km road race.  If I don't qualify for Boston in May, I'll spend the summer preparing for the Royal Victoria Marathon in October.

WEIGHTLOSS: In 2001, I weighed 290 pounds.  I joined Weight Watchers and lost over 100 pounds.  I still struggle constantly with bad eating habits.  My weight has ranged from 170 to 230 over the past 2 years.  I am currently at about 204 pounds, and I need to get down to about 170 pounds by May in order to attempt a 3:10 marathon.

WHAT WILL MAKE ME A GOOD MENTOR: I have 6 years experience. I love this sport and it's my passion.