General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Looking for a mentor SF Bay Area Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-01-03 2:27 PM

User image

Regular
SF Bay Area
Subject: Looking for a mentor SF Bay Area
Hello,

I am new to triathlons and I am looking for a mentor to help me through my infancy period in this sport. I am 43 years old, live in Contra Costa County (East Bay) and work in San Francisco for a consulting firm based out of Chicago. Although I am new to triathlons, I am a life time athlete. My strength is biking, as I have competed in criteriums, rode races and mountain biking. I have always incorporated running as part of my training with a distance of 5-10 miles, depending on my motivation at the time. I am new to distance swimming. I can currently swim about 1600 meters during a training session, with 1 minute breaks here and there. I do have over 20 years of experience of North Coast ocean free diving and swimming, which I imagine will help me somewhere down the line. I am training for the swim at the Clarke Swim Center in Walnut Creek, with some swims in the ocean here and there.

My main concern is training structure, with respects to programs, equipment and triathlon specific apparel. I am striving for my first triathlon in April, which coincides with the opening of Abalone season and should get me in great shape for some deep dives in Bodega Bay! I am 5’10 and weigh about 180-185 (I am a former power lifter, so my upper body muscle mass leaves my swim stroke much to be improved upon). My main concern is peaking too soon and injury, as I am tending to over train. I really need some structure here with a program that fits me at this point and time. My other concern is equipment.