General Discussion Triathlon Talk » road bike vs tri bike in DATT Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-01-25 6:16 PM

User image

Veteran
Oak Park, IL
Subject: road bike vs tri bike in DATT
For those of you who have done the Triple T, would you recommend a road bike or a tri bike, if you had both. I realize it is a triathlon but since I will be using it as an early season long training weekend, I am unsure which bike to ride. I know for the few other hilly early season rides I have planned (Tour of the Mississippi River Valley, etc) I'll likely be on my road bike. Plus, I am doing the DATT as a team and drafting on a tri bike can be iffy.

Any comments/recommendation?

2008-01-26 12:20 PM
in reply to: #1176676

User image

Expert
South eastern Ohio
Subject: RE: road bike vs tri bike in DATT

Well I'm not an expert by any means. I did the TTT last year and the Little Smokies the year before that (that is the 1/2 Iron distance on Sun) the first year I used my road bike and last year I used my tri bike. I felt stronger on the Tri Bike last year, but I say that with the understading that my Tri bike is very much a better bike, componant wise, than my entry level road bike. Most of the other atletes were on their Tri bikes and yes there is a lot of climbing and some tight turns but they are manageable with the Tri bike. I think that the Tri bike helped me. I hope this helps. Looking forward to it this year and I plan not to finish Last this year

Chris

PS I think that some of the "hardcore " folks over at Slowtwitch had a discussion about the Tri vs Road for TTT, It think it will come up on a search. But be careful over there

Edited by chrisrunzs26 2008-01-26 12:26 PM
2008-01-26 3:22 PM
in reply to: #1177235

User image

Veteran
Oak Park, IL
Thanks. I'll do a search on ST. I am a constant lurker and sometimes poster over there so I am prepared for what could happen.

And don't worry about being last. I am sure me and my teammate will take that spot