General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Check in from SoCal Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-02-08 8:46 PM

Subject: Check in from SoCal
Hi everybody:
I've been lurking around the site for a couple of weeks, and finally decided to join in. I'm just starting this tri thing, and this site is great for getting info, inspiration, etc. I've been a runner since high school track and cross-country, and I've been doing marathons for the last 4 years, but started getting burned out and felt the need to start something new. My wife does tri's, and suggested I try it. I'm fine with the running (doing 15 miles fairly easily, ran a half marathon 2 weeks ago in 1:37), and I'm OK with cycling, but the swim is my nemesis. I signed up for my first tri (Mission Bay Tri in san diego, Oct), and started splashing around in the pool but didn't get any formal coaching. I thought I would be OK for the 500 meter swim, especially since I discovered that I probably wouldn't drown with the buoyancy of my wetsuit. However, the difference between being in a pool and being in the open water was shocking. As soon as I started going, I was being kicked by other people, it was freezing cold, and I couldn't see where I was going. Anyway, I ended up doing 19:00 for a 500 meter swim (ouch!)with alot of dogpaddling and sidestroking, but sort of made up for it with a 20:30 5K at the end.
My question for everyone out there: is it really possible for a beginner swimmer to improve significantly? I'm taking swim lessons now at a local pool, and I'm trying to laps once or twice a week, but I still get winded after only swimming 25 meters. I'm hoping to do an international distance race in the summer.
Thanks everyone!

2004-02-08 10:21 PM
in reply to: #6495

User image

Central Louisiana
Subject: RE: Check in from SoCal