General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swimming shape enough for the other 2 disciplines Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-12-09 1:07 AM

User image

Pro
Los Angeles, CA
Subject: Swimming shape enough for the other 2 disciplines
For all you experienced triathletes, I have a question that I'm curious about.

I've read several posts that people can be in shape for running and/or biking, but then jump in the pool and be out of shape for swimming.

My question is, is the opposite true also?

Just say, I am in excellent shape for swimming, and then don't really run or bike, will I have the endurance for those two disciplines?

2004-12-09 1:49 AM
in reply to: #90708

User image

Subject: RE: Swimming shape enough for the other 2 disciplines
I'm no expert.... or even experienced, for that matter, but nope

My swimming endurance is pretty good, when I started running it was all I could do to go one minute straight. That was a couple short months ago and now I'm up to 15 or so... But it's totally different since you are now (in running) supporting your entire body weight. Cycling is a little easier, but fitness in one doesn't necessarily translate to another

Chris
2004-12-09 4:57 AM

User image

Vienna, Austria
I guess you wouldn't have the endurance to run and bike. Or, your lungs and heart would manage the effort, but probably your legs wouldn't, because you use totally different muscles swimming and running.
My endurance in swimming was pretty good, too, before I started running. And I couldn't run more than a few minutes, either, although it was not problem to swim for three hours without rest...
2004-12-09 6:46 AM

User image

Expert
Colchester, CT
My guess is that you would probably have the aerobic endurance but not the muscular endurance. Swimming is pretty much a no impact sport, where running is high impact. Also running and bicycling use pretty much your leg muscles, which aren't being used during swimming.

Chris
2004-12-09 11:41 AM