General Discussion Triathlon Talk » List of Tri Gear - what order to buy? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-03-13 11:12 AM

User image

Regular
South Florida
Subject: List of Tri Gear - what order to buy?
I'm pretty new to the sport, haven't even done my first race yet, but since I'm a NERD - OK, really, I'm obsessive and anal-retentive - I made a list of all the gear I think I need to buy. I put it in the order I think I should buy. This is based both on cost and, primarily, usage - i.e. I'll use dri-weave shirts in training more than I'll use a race belt (it's damn hot and humid in SoFla). Currently, I only have some running shorts and a hybrid bike that may or may not have clipless pedals (The person I got it from used clipless, but I haven't checked to see if she took them off.) I am intending to do sprints for a while and I think my longest distance ever would be a HIM.

Also, this list doesn't include ongoing costs like shoes and bodyglide.

Dri-weave shirts
Bike shorts
Timex IM watch
Master swim classes (this is an ongoing expense, but I can't afford/justify right now)
Bike Shoes & Clipless pedals
Cadence monitor/bike computer
Clip-on Aerobars
Race/H20Belt
Tri-suit
Swim lessons (if Master swim is not enough)
Road/Tri bike
Sports Nutritionist Session
Road ID (only because I always carry my id, but it will make a good gift)

So, am I missing anything and does this order seem good?

Thanks!

Edited by yogus 2008-03-13 11:14 AM

2008-03-13 11:48 AM
in reply to: #1269631

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
Subject: RE: List of Tri Gear - what order to buy?

If at all possible, include tri suit/shorts/top up there in top place with your shirt/shorts. Considerably better to race in, and, yeah, you should train as you would race. The dri-weave/bike shorts are not going to be ideal to swim in, and attempting to change clothes in transition is a huge challenge.