General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Question for triathletes using coaches Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-03-21 7:15 AM

Subject: Question for triathletes using coaches
Hey everybody, I'm an intermediate level triathlete thinking about getting a coach and was reading the other thread about coaches.

Of the users who do have a coach...does using a coach really keep you accountable and motivated? How much does having somebody do all the thinking for you help?

Ultimately, did you see time drops because you had more accountability, motivation, direction etc. in your training? Do you think this is a mental effect or is it the result of tangible coaching benefits.

I tend to be injury prone and I want to get to the finish in one piece, so those things are important to me too.

2008-03-21 7:28 AM
in reply to: #1284754

User image

Champion
New York, NY
Subject: RE: Question for triathletes using coaches

As a beginner I chose to use a coach so that I would remain injury free, use my time more effectively and have someone with experience guiding me.

I think your last statement - being injury prone - suggests that you would benefit from expert guidance.  

But I am only a beginner - have only completed one triathlon (last weekend) so my opinion does not hold much weight. Having qualified my statements I will say:

With coaching I stayed injury free, DID use my time effectively, won my age group, came in 4th overall in the first time women (missed 3rd by 4 seconds to a woman less than half my age) and 7th overall in men and women, beat all the other first timers I knew racing and had a great race.  I am meeting up with my coach this weekend to review and go forward to hopefully have a fantastic kick azz season.

I am a believer in expert opinions - having a coach whose opinion I respect and trust has been quite helpful to me.  I have also sought opinions here (and all the first time tips people gave me were GREAT - and made a HUGE difference).