General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Following the leader...I had better, he followed me! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-04-04 11:57 PM

New user

Subject: Following the leader...I had better, he followed me!

I am, personally, a total newbie to triathlons - but I want to do a sprint this summer.  My problem has been finding the motivation to get started with training.  I would love to say that I just don't have the time, which is only partly true, but I know that if I made it a priority in my life, I would be well on my way.

Perhaps part of my problem with motivation comes from the fact that I have been totally eclipsed by my wonderful and loving husband!!!  It was a couple of years ago that I was way more active than he was and said, "Let's do a half-marathon together!".  He just kind of smirked and said, "How far is that?"  Well, since we finished our first half marathon, he has totally transformed himself and has done a couple full marathons, a couple of half-irons, and is now training hard for Ironman CDA.  Like I said, TOTALLY eclipsed me - I will never measure up - not that he makes me feel that way at all.  He is awesome - I just can't seem to get motivated

I am hoping that by posting here, I will have some peeps to encourage me and maybe just help me find the desire to get going...  so maybe this is my first step toward leaving behind fast-food and the couch!!!

2008-04-05 3:00 AM
in reply to: #1317349

New user

blackpool england
Subject: RE: Following the leader...I had better, he followed me!

hi there, i know what you mean i suffer with motivation too (one reason im trying tri) i found one way to help was bribe myself. set small targets... this week i will do 2hrs training (more if thats too easy) then when you have done buy yourself something you want. I usually buy new cycling socks or mitts or some other cheap little treat.   andy

2008-04-06 7:31 PM

User image

Royal(PITA)
West Chester, Ohio