General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Ready to get going Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-02-15 11:46 PM

User image

New user

Ottawa, ON
Subject: Ready to get going
Hi everyone.

I'm a 20 year old University student in Ottawa, Ontario, and I've never done a triathlon before, but I'm looking forward to trying it out this summer! I've been pretty athletic all my life and I play fastpitch competitively as well as bike regularly and have recently been doing step classes at the gym. I went in my first 5k run last summer with my Mom and did pretty well. I decided then that if I could do the run part of a triathlon, the rest should be a breeze (yeah right). My mom's a runner, so I've challenged her to compete with me this summer in a triathlon. Now I have to train hard enough to beat her.

I found this website in the fall and have been checking on it every week... it's been keeping me motivated to stay in shape over the winter... (a hard thing when you live in Canada). I'm planning to start the 16 week sprint training program right after final exams in April... the program will end up being 13 weeks long for me, but I'll try to fit a couple of short runs a week throughout the spring. I'm glad to have a website to check out when I'm feeling lazy and unmotivated!

2004-02-15 11:52 PM
in reply to: #7497

, Alabama
Subject: RE: Ready to get going

Welcome to the board Jess.  I wish I was into tri's or any type of road racing when I was 20!  It's great that you're getting into this at such a young age.  Just a warning:  speaking as a mom myself, as much as you want to beat her, she wants to beat you!  Good luck.

Sharon

2004-02-16 5:31 AM

Extreme Veteran
PohangSi

Welcome and good luck.

JD

2004-02-16 6:50 AM

User image

Champion
Ottawa, Ontario