General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Problems Pumping Up a Presta Valve Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-04-23 11:41 AM

Massachusetts
Subject: Problems Pumping Up a Presta Valve
Wow...lots of "P's" in that title. Don't recite it out loud with a mouth full of crackers...

Anyhoo, thanks to Bear, I bought one of the Javelins. I'm more or less a road bike newbie, and it's my first time with a Presta valve. I was hoping somebody could tell me if I'm doing something wrong in pumping up my tires.

Here is my typical sequence when I pump the tires:
1. Remove the cap, loosen the lock nut, and depress the lock nut to let some air out
2. Screw the brass adapter onto the Presta valve, put the pump end on the brass adapter in the "straight" position, then lock it down into the "L" position.

Now, here's where the problem comes in:
When I pump, eventually I get to the point where I can't force any more air into the valve, and the pump end "pops" off.

So my question is, is this normal? The tires aren't quite as hard as I believe they could be, so I think I should be able to force a bit more air into them. Is there something I am/am failing to do that is creating this "pop"?

Edited by dogfacedgremlin34 2008-04-23 11:41 AM

2008-04-23 11:49 AM
in reply to: #1356937

User image

Extreme Veteran
Kansas City, MO
Subject: RE: Problems Pumping Up a Presta Valve

First, it's really helpful to have a pump with a guage on it that measures the pressure in the tires.  I do the "full by feel method" when I get a flat on the road, but I'm pretty religious about using the guage when I'm at home.  A newer pump might let you avoid having to have an adapter at all since they typically have both Schrader and Presta connectors, unless you're having to use an extender or crack pipe for certain wheels.