General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » couch --> full ironman anyone? Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-05-23 9:30 AM

Subject: couch --> full ironman anyone?
Hi, I am a complete beginner to all endurance events. I have had extensive weight training, along side semi-professional rugby and boxing (5 years). I have been at university for two years now and would declare myself as 'off the couch'.

I have been looking for something to whip not only my body back into shape, but to reignite my passion for fitness. A couple of my friends ran ironman, and since ive been reading about it i've been growing more and more excited about the prospect of one of the hardest physical challenges to date.

I WANT to go from my current state to a full ironman in a year (2009 ironman uk?). Neglecting injury worries etc, I would like to know if this is possible, assuming a prior history of fairly good fitness? As stated, I am still at the University of Leeds (Physics), and would be willing to devote my LIFE to this goal, the achievement of which would fuel me with an un-parallel drive for success in all areas of my life. My friends who competed are 110% behind the idea and have said that it's more than achievable, thus I have taken the first few steps to preparing myself for this enormous feat. I will begin training on the 1st of June (after my exams, and gives me a few days to prepare).

Any help (tips on training and diet especially!) would be greatly appreciated however big or small. I will also be doing it for a charity, I have a short list at the moment however I have not decided which one as of yet.

Thanks

Darren

2008-05-23 2:17 PM
in reply to: #1421154

Oldsmar, FL
Subject: RE: couch --> full ironman anyone?

I'm certainly no expert and can only relay what I've read at this juncture