General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Getting a bike on a budget Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-02-19 12:03 AM

Veteran
Singapore
Subject: Getting a bike on a budget
I am a newbie and have never attempted or done a triathlon in my life.
Was a coach potato leading a sedentary lifestyle but started running 7 or 8 mths ago and have completed a few 10km runs and is training for my first biathlon(1.5km swim follow by 10km run).I am now running daily and is thinking about getting a bicycle to join a triathlon. not sure if I am going to be serious about this triathlon thing so do not want to purchase an expensive bike.
The most expensive equipment for a triathlon seems to be the bicycle.
Should I be getting a road bike or a mountain bike??? Wouldn,t it be weird ridding a mountain bike on a tri?? I am leaning towards a road bike but the downside is that I can't ride on trails or go offroad with a road bike.
I am considering the following bikes that are within my budget.

Scott Sport bike
KHS Flite 500
Giant OCR 3
Polygon cyclos

Actually I am stretching my budget by quite a bit with the following bikes above
What budget bikes do you recommend for a tri??

2004-02-19 7:38 AM
in reply to: #8176

User image

Champion
Ottawa, Ontario
Subject: RE: Getting a bike on a budget