Other Resources My Cup of Joe » Bike trial Bass Turds.!! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2008-06-03 10:41 AM

User image

Elite
Athens, Georgia
Subject: Bike trial Bass Turds.!!
I am new to both the world of Triathlon and Cycling. I got into cycling as part of and injury re-hab and from there to Triathlon. Did my first race this past weekend and I am hooked. I have been cycling and training for about two or three months up to now so not a huge time frame to draw from.

I have been to some triathlon based training rides and everyone was amazingly friendly. During my first race everyone was out of their way nice and encouraging it was great. I lift my hand or say hi to every single person I pass on the bike trail in the spirit of friendliness and outside of one girl a few weeks ago every single jerk on the trail just stares right through me.

I train on the Ft Frasier Trail that runs from Bartow to Lakeland in Polk County Fl and pass a good number of cyclists so the ration is like 1 out of 50 that I have passed were even remotely friendly. Is this the case in the cycling? Is it that different from triathlon where almost everyone is super friendly?

Am I stupid to wave, I don't want to seem like a jerk. A few weeks ago while refilling my water bottles another guy riding a much nicer bike than me that I happened to fly pass going out and coming back stood about a foot from me without saying a word. I finally said Hi after testing to see if everyone is really a jerk. He looked up at me and said "You know you are wearing a girl's helmet right."