General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tri bike vs. road bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2008-06-18 6:35 AM

New user

Subject: Tri bike vs. road bike
Hey y'all.  I'm brand new to the whole tri thing and am becoming addicted more and more each day.  I'm about to go make a purchase on a bike.  I've been asking around about a road bike (sticking aerobars on it, etc.) or going with a tri bike.  What's your opinion? 

Edited by Texags06 2008-06-18 6:37 AM

2008-06-18 6:37 AM
in reply to: #1473375

User image

Veteran
Subject: RE: Tri bike vs. road bike
definetely tri bike. i have a specialized allez elite. raced in tris last year. this year i go a felt b2. WOW. much faster smoother and helps a ton on the legs for the run. good luck with your decision. plus the FELT looks so hot
2008-06-18 7:14 AM

User image

Davenport, IA
If I had the chance to go back to Feb. and buy a tri bike instead of a road bike I would def. go tri bike.  I bought the road bike because I wasn't sure I'd like tri's and I wanted to be able to do group rides.  Turns out I don't like group rides and I really like tri's.  May be looking for a way to add to the fleet next year.
2008-06-18 7:25 AM

User image

Veteran
Grand Rapids MI
Tri Bike ....Tri Bike !!!

• .........and then get a road bike, ................and a mountian bike .......... and a cycle cross bike ..........and a ..................

• sorry I think I have a problem
    2008-06-18 8:00 AM

User image

Master
    Lake Norman, NC

Here's the difference between the two:  On either bike, your hip angle should be around 90-degrees.  That's the optimum riding position that maximizes power and allows for the best endurance.  On a road bike, the frame's seat post is at an angle that points further back from the BB, about 70-degrees.  So you look like this...