General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Du-ing the Du Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-07-10 9:44 AM

User image

Champion
Menomonee Falls, WI
Subject: Du-ing the Du
Due to lingering issues from the severe flooding we had in Wisconsin weeks ago, my favorite Sprint Tri has been changed to a Du. They swapped out the 460-yard swim for a 1.5 mile run at the start (hardly a fair trade, IMO-- I'd much rather swim.)

I've never done a Du before. So, what little tips can you offer so I can perform my best? The race is Sunday, so it's too late to really train any differently.

2008-07-10 9:50 AM
in reply to: #1519975

User image

Elite
Whispering Pines, North Carolina
Subject: RE: Du-ing the Du

Ugh

from a tri to a du?

i'd say don't change anything in your training if you plan to continue doing Tri's

(not on this short notice)

you may also want to take it easier than normal on the first leg so you don't mess up your bike

good luck, whatever you do... 

2008-07-10 10:34 AM

User image

Master
Robbinsville NJ
I did a DU as my 1st race this year. My initial run was longer (4.2 miles) than yours but I found that the 1st run took a lot more out of my legs than I thought it would and I didn't hydrate properly before or during that run. It ended up costing me on the bike/2nd run.

I would say depending on your fitness level definitely run well within yourself on that 1st leg so you can push the last 2.
2008-07-10 10:40 AM

User image

Not a Coach
Media, PA
Run the opening leg at the same pace you think you can run the final one (same pace as if it were a tri).
2008-07-10 11:50 AM

User image

Expert
Colorado Springs, Colorado