General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Body-Dolphin and Core Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-01-25 9:40 AM

User image

Philadelphia, south of New York and north of DC
Subject: Body-Dolphin and Core
I'm studying a Total Immersion video in preparation for getting back to the pool in two weeks.

I've never swum a butterfly. Does it make sense to learn it? It seems like it would be good for developing core strength if nothing else.

From watching the TI DVD it seems doable for me.

2005-01-25 10:33 AM
in reply to: #108047

User image

Not a Coach
Media, PA
Subject: RE: Body-Dolphin and Core

Hey Don,

IMO the fly can be a fun stroke (assuming you can do it) for variety and a little "cross-training" in the pool.  As you know, I do some non-free sets in Masters frequently, though my fly is fun only for those watching and needing a good laugh at 5:30am.  The fly is not an easy stroke to do and will not make you better in a tri as far as I can tell. 

I'd put it on the backburner for now and maybe put it on your list of things to try in the future.

2005-01-25 10:36 AM

User image

Master
Harvard, Illinois
If you can learn butterfly it can be a very rewarding workout. When I was on the high school swim team it was my weakest stroke. It gave me a great workout though. It was hard to get the timing down with the hips for me. You may have to have a coach or someone who knows the stroke to help you with pointers.

Mike
2005-01-25 12:20 PM

User image

Expert
Iowa