General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Speedplays Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2008-08-06 8:39 AM

User image

Veteran
Subject: Speedplays

Just wondering who uses speedplay pedals here.  I've got Look keos right now & although I'm satisfied with them, in general, I'm entertaining getting speedplays for ease of clipping in.  I'm very, ahem, green with clipless pedals & find that I get stressed out when it comes to clipping in (although not so much clipping out).  I've been cycling for about four months, so I know these minor matters of comfort will come with experience, but I can't help but wonder if a different system might ease some of my nerves. 

I hear a lot about float and speedplays offerring free float - so if anyone can expand on that concept & why speedplays may or may not be good compared to what I have (outside of comfort), I'd love to learn more.  Thanks in advance!

2008-08-06 9:03 AM
in reply to: #1584684

User image

Champion
Tacoma, Washington
Subject: RE: Speedplays

I started out with first-generation Look pedals (no float), then went to Shimano SPD (the MTB style) for several years, then to Speedplay (the X-series). I've been on the Speedplays for about 4 years now.

I've found that the Speedplays need a little more maintenance to keep clipping in easy, otherwise it takes a little pushing forward or backward to get the cleat to engage. But there is the definite plus of not having to make sure the pedal is "upright".

The free float is a strange sensation initially, but that goes away quickly (the sensation, not the float).

2008-08-06 9:21 AM

User image

Veteran

Thanks!!! 

Does the free float sensation, literally, allow your heel to sway with each stroke?  My foot stays fixed right now - I'm wondering if this type of freedom might make me feel more unstable, especially when I'm climbing!

2008-08-06 1:05 PM

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire