Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-08-18 2:34 PM
in reply to: #1605153

User image

Coach
Stairway to Seven
Subject: RE: Gardasil Vaccine
runner - 2008-08-14 8:47 PM

So I've been hearing a lot about the Gardasil vaccine which protects against some strains of HPV. It sounds like there's controversy over what it protects against in relation to the high cost. I'm no medical professional, but I feel like even if there's protection againstsome strains of HPV it's useful. Our insurance covers 100% of the cost of the 3 shots except a $5 copay. I'm thinking why not, but I'm wondering if anyone has any insight about the vaccine that may be helpful to me. I don't know what's true from what's not, and I know there are MDs on BT so I'm looking for some opinions/attitudes/whatever towards Gardasil. I don't know if there are any long-term side effects of the vaccine, or anything like that.

BTW, I called my Dr's office & was told I need an appt with the Dr. in which he will talk to me about the vaccine. So I'm not basing my decisions just off of your replies. I'm not in a hurry b/c I'm guessing my doc is going to give me the whole speech about continuing regular screenings. Then I can just hear him asking when my last screening was or looking in my chart, to find that it was 1.5 yrs ago (the first and only one). I'll be mildly scolded, then probably have a screening which I dread.

no one knows what the long term effects are....presumably cervical cancer prevention.

you don't have to answer these questions here, but things to consider are how old are you and how many partners have you had? If you are a 16 year old virgin, you'll get more benefit from the vaccine than if you are a 30 year old who has had many sexual partners.

HPV is transmitted from skin to skin contact, even with condoms. the thinking is that by the time you've had several parters, even if you've always used protection, then you've already been exposed to a whole bunch of HPV strains....