General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Doing your first Tri...and had cancer? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-08-22 1:50 PM

New user

Subject: Doing your first Tri...and had cancer?

Greetings my fellow Triathletes! Tongue out

I am in training for my first sprint Triathlon on October 5th. I started training about 8 weeks ago and I am excited and nervous at the same time.

I am curious if there are other cancer survivors out there who have been inspired to train for a triathlon? I spent most of 2007 going getting diagnosed, treated...and cured of Hodgkin's Lymphoma (stage II). I had 4 months of ABVD chemotherapy, and 17 sessions of radiation. I finished my treatment last August.

Late last year some of our friends started road biking and it sounded like a lot of fun. Once I started to get some energy back we started working out, and bought our first road bike (mine is a Trek 2.1 WSD..I LOVE it!). We ride every Sunday in group rides and try to ride a few days during the week as well. My first hurlde was our 40 mile charity ride in July. If you can't tell I'm hooked on the high of biking and have started the transition into the triathlon activities.

So my question out there is I would love to hear if there are others out there who have success stories, words of wisdome etc.

I still face challenges with my body not bending like it used to as well as major foot cramps due to lingering effects of the neuropathy. Fortunately I am in remision but my body was put through a lot to get there. Of course the one good side effect is the new sexy curly hair!

Thanks for listening!

Jen

2008-08-23 10:12 AM
in reply to: #1621840

User image

Master
Finally north of the Mason-Dixon Line
Subject: RE: Doing your first Tri...and had cancer?

Welcome and congratulations on beating cancer!   good for you for setting your sights on a triathlon.