General Discussion Triathlon Talk » What finally did it? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-08-24 10:43 AM

User image

Expert
New York
Subject: What finally did it?
I'm relatively new to triathlons (two years, handful of sprints, an oly and a half), though not to endurance sports (long distance running: marathon/half mary, etc.). I'm definitely hooked for life on tris. I think Olympic is my perfect distance, though the Half was a heckuva lot of fun. Of course, now my friends keep asking me if/when I plan on doing the full Ironman. (Ack, pressure).

Personally, I think I should get at least one more half under my belt before I will feel ready to consider it, but I could potentially do one in late 2009.

Recently I've gotten really into following the training/successes/struggles/race reports of some of the Iron folks on BT--you are all incredibly inspiring. And I know it's different for every athlete, but for those of you who have done one or are training for one now, what was the thing that finally made you actually register for a full? How did you know you were ready to take it on?

2008-08-24 11:08 AM
in reply to: #1623923

User image

Extreme Veteran
Dearborn, Michigan, USA.
Subject: RE: What finally did it?
I started in the sport a long time ago, 1984. 24 years ago by my math. When I began you only really did other races to try to get to Hawaii. I made it to Hawaii in 1986. It was much easier to qualigy back then. It was before aerobars and triathlon bikes and wetsuits. The Powerbar hadn't even been invented yet.

I'm pleased the sport has outgrown just being a means to get to one big event. Our sport and the people who do it are so much bigger than that. It took me years to learn that- as it does most good lessons in life.