General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Running knee pain is frustrating!! Questions inside Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-09-07 7:26 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Webster, Ma
Subject: Running knee pain is frustrating!! Questions inside

I have been cycling for a few years now, and this summer got into tri's, never had an injury from cycling or swimming before, and just recently had my first one from running.

I have been gradually increasing my distances and speed since may/june, I have come to really enjoy running, and completed my longest run to date on labor day (11 miles) I felt really good through the whole run, ended it with a great sprint and felt like I could have kept going.

After showering and stuff I had to spend an hour and a half in the car round trip to the girlfriends school and back, and out of the car my knee felt really tight, swollen, and sharp pain at the top of and just above my kneecap. I took tues-thurs off from everything just to stretch and rest it, then rode a light 20 miles fri, followed by stretch and ice, 13 fast miles sun on the tri bike and tried to do a brick, made it out of the driveway on the run and my knee started to hurt again so I went back inside.

I am looking for some ideas/suggestions how to deal with this. It doesnt bother me on the bike and feels ok walking but as soon as I begin to run it hurts quite a bit.

Thanks in advance!!

2008-09-07 7:47 PM
in reply to: #1656865

User image

Expert
Ontario
Subject: RE: Running knee pain is frustrating!! Questions inside

I have 2 thoughts on this:

#1.  If you've only been running since May (~4 months total) then an 11 mile long run may represent too quickly increasing your mileage. (hard to tell with your empty logs).  In this case take a few days off running then reduce the distance of your long runs (and your total mileage) and build your mileage up slowly.