General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ready to have my foot cut off Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-03-07 11:52 AM

Veteran
NYC
Subject: Ready to have my foot cut off
Not sure if this is the appropriate forum, but I just have to vent. Ok, so I used to be a 'runner', up until August 2003 when I ruptured my plantar fascia. So after I moaned & whined for several months cause I couldn't run, having cancelled out of 2 NYC marathons (soon to be 3) I decided, hey, the only thing that has ever prevented me from my dream of a triathlon is that I can't swim, so all last year I took lessons & practiced swimming, while running just a little. I won't go into the long drawn out saga of my foot, but I've had the following treatments: cast for 3 months, P.T., acupuncture, steriod shot, ESWT, active-release therapy, rest, ice, yada yada yada. So, I've been running now for 4 months, up to 7 miles per week (I used to do that in a day!), and after yesterday's 4 miler, my foot is sore again.
Has anyone ever heard of a runner having to stop forever due to this injury??? I'm seeing my pod this week to have my orthotics built up for more support, but I find it ironic that now I can swim, but can't run.

I'm very discouraged.

2005-03-07 12:39 PM
in reply to: #126348

Elite
Livingston, MT
Subject: RE: Ready to have my foot cut off
Well Trish, I'm recovering from a Plantar Fascia tear now. I've been patient for two weeks, the foot feels good again, but after your story I'm gonna give it another week.

Not what you want to hear, but thank you for the story.
2005-03-07 1:37 PM

User image

Lethbridge, Alberta
Bronze member
Hi Tricia,

There are some links in this thread:
http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/discussion/forums/thread-view.asp...