General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Weekly swimming frequency Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-01-26 10:02 PM

User image

Subject: Weekly swimming frequency

I noticed in all the training programs none of them promote swimming more than 3 times per week.  I'm new to swimming - just started crawling last April [2008].  It took a while and the help of TI book & video but I'm finally doing a decent crawl - not very fast - but can go continuously for many laps - getting better all the time.  I have actually come to enjoy the swimming as much as my running (I'm a runner turned triathlete) - did 2 sprint tris last year [2008].  Since I enjoy swimming so much I wanted to build in a 4th day to my training program and am wondering if that is a good idea or not since none of the programs I see on this site go any more than 3 days of swimming per week.  Is my thought that swimming is almost like a rest day incorrect?  Thanks for any input as I can use all the help I can get and don't want to over-train.Smile

2009-01-26 10:17 PM
in reply to: #1930735

User image

Veteran
Kalamazoo, MI
Subject: RE: Weekly swimming frequency
There's actually a training plan which has you swimming five days a week - the eight week winter swim focus plan.  Adding a fourth day is unlikely to be harmful providing you allow yourself enough recovery.  I'd avoid doing sprint sessions back to back.  I personally don't consider swimming "rest" days unless it's just a nice slow swim designed for that purpose. 
2009-01-26 10:27 PM

User image

Elite
Gilbert, Az.
MW59 - 2009-01-26 9:02 PM