General Discussion Triathlon Talk » trail shoes Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-01-28 1:14 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Surprise, AZ
Subject: trail shoes
Looking for some advice on trail shoes. I have never worn a pair but looking to pick up a pair since I have a 50 mile trail run coming up in April.

Are trail shoes like running shoes where you have control, stability, ect..?

What are some good things to look for in a trail shoe?

Is $100 plus bucks worth it in a trail shoe?

Thnkas for any input

2009-01-28 2:33 PM
in reply to: #1933842

User image

Champion
Atlanta, Ga
Subject: RE: trail shoes
I love my Cascadia's by Brooks.  I do all of my trail runs in them and they served me well during the Mountain Mist 50K.
2009-01-28 2:40 PM

User image

Veteran
I'm not an expert but I was told by my shoe guy that most trail shoes aren't available in stability, etc. I didn't quite get why but I think it was because for trail running you're running on such variable terrain and surface that your foot does not need as much support as it would with a road running shoe.

2009-01-28 2:46 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran

Another vote for the Brooks Cascadia 3.  I have them and absolutely love them.  I have done up to 33 miles at a time in them and really like them - here they are:

http://www.brooksrunning.com/prod.php?p=1100461D

Very comfy but also good stability.  Hope this helps.

Brian

2009-01-28 3:08 PM
in reply to: #1934051

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2009-01-28 3:13 PM

Westminster, CO
I'm on my second pair of Puma Trail Fox.  I don't think I'd recommend them for long distances (10k+), but I love using them in the winter for trail running when there's slush/snow on the trails - as they aren't as breathable as my road shoes

2009-01-28 3:19 PM

Master
PA
I just got Salomon's XA Pro 3D Ultra.  Wanted waterproof and these are Gore-tex. 
2009-01-28 3:31 PM

Extreme Veteran
McHenry, IL