General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Does it make sense for a fast 25-year old triathlete to lift? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-02-08 12:13 PM

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.

2009-02-08 1:07 PM
in reply to: #1951319

Elite
Denver, Colorado
Subject: RE: Does it make sense for a fast 25-year old triathlete to lift?
I'm a big fan of lifting, but based on what you've written here, I'd said no. Especially since your current training schedule is like a part-teim job for some people.
2009-02-16 3:27 PM

Canfield, Ohio
I am a personal trainer and I had/have the same issue as you.....

I am 26 and are pretty much equal to you in a lot of ways. I am always confused if I should be lifiting or not. And if so when? Off-season? In-season? Once a week? Twice a week? Heavy? Light? Mad confusion....

So What I dediced on is a simple kind of lift twice a week...

I dont put any extra stress on my body that would hurt my training. The workout is a combination of strength exercise with stretch exercise. For Example: instead of during squats or leg press, I do 1-leg squats for no weight and do a HIGH amount of reps, instead of Bench Press I do push-ups, etc.

I call it Endurance Lifting. Its still strength exercising with results, but more benficial to triathletes. We won't get huge buldging biceps and pecs, but we dont need them....

Just a suggestion!
2009-04-01 9:54 AM

Regular
I have been doing a lot of low weight/high rep workouts at the gym. I try to isolate the muscles that don't get worked as much in training and also strengthen muscles that can be injured in triathlon activities, (hip flexors/extensors, glutes, and rotator cuff.) I have also tried to do a lot of core workouts because that will help any sport. I just turned 26 and my first tri is this summer so maybe all my workouts will be in vain but it helps in the other sports I play also.
2009-04-26 6:14 AM

Extreme Veteran
Severna Park, MD