General Discussion Triathlon Talk » To taper or not to taper??? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-02-11 5:55 PM

User image

Lexington, SC
Subject: To taper or not to taper???
I guess that this is not really the question, but WHY? and How long?

I am a novice, but have completed a few sprints and a couple of olympic distances, but am preparing for my first 1/2 IM this fall. Everyone talks about tapering, and I can deduce what they mean, but they never say HOW or HOW LONG.

So, what is an appropriate taper for a 1/2 IM event? Does this mean that there should be no long distance training during this period? Or can you work a few in strategically along the way?

Thanks for your input.

Todd

Edited by cycle_todd 2009-02-11 5:56 PM

2009-02-11 6:01 PM
in reply to: #1957567

User image

Sensei
Sin City
Subject: RE: To taper or not to taper???

While training, you are constantly tearing the body down and rebuilding.  That's what makes you stronger.  In essence, you are always in a state of 'under repair'.  The taper lets you rest, repair the body, maximize your strength.  The longer the race, the longer the taper (due to the fact that longer races have you doing more training).

I would typically see a week taper for a HIM.  That does NOT mean you sit on your butt and do nothing.  It usually just mean a significant reduction of training time AND a reduction of workout intensity.  You could still easily put in 4-6 hours of training, but at a recovery effort.

2009-02-11 6:06 PM

User image

Expert
New York
I used to think that meant a reduction in volume AND intensity, but had recently read somewhere (forget where) that you're supposed to reduce only volume, but still work as hard as usual...
2009-02-11 6:10 PM

User image

Coach
Boston, MA