General Discussion Triathlon Talk » LBS Loyalty | Buy New vs. Used Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-02-15 7:10 PM

User image

Veteran
Subject: LBS Loyalty | Buy New vs. Used
I'm a tri newbie and I currently ride a 12 year QR Kilo with shimano 600 (that's right Shimano 600) components. I'm ready for a new ride but don't really want to drop thousands on the latest greatest, I just want a bike born in the new millenium. My big race for the year is FL 70.3.

I go to my LBS about every two months and check out the inventory. I really want to support the LBS, but I find that if you are not picky (or elite) you can find some pretty sick deals on ebay relative to what you can buy new.

Aside from the potential sizing problem are there other major arguments in support of buying at LBS?

*by the way, I am holding the person who started the "show me your ride" thread responsible for my latest ebay surfing.

2009-02-15 8:14 PM
in reply to: #1963538

User image

Expert
Lake in the Hills, IL
Subject: RE: LBS Loyalty | Buy New vs. Used
dpeeples - 2009-02-15 7:10 PM

I'm a tri newbie and I currently ride a 12 year QR Kilo with shimano 600 (that's right Shimano 600) components. I'm ready for a new ride but don't really want to drop thousands on the latest greatest, I just want a bike born in the new millenium. My big race for the year is FL 70.3.

I go to my LBS about every two months and check out the inventory. I really want to support the LBS, but I find that if you are not picky (or elite) you can find some pretty sick deals on ebay relative to what you can buy new.

Aside from the potential sizing problem are there other major arguments in support of buying at LBS?

*by the way, I am holding the person who started the "show me your ride" thread responsible for my latest ebay surfing.