General Discussion Triathlon Talk » first bike purchase Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-02-17 8:55 PM

User image

New user

Subject: first bike purchase
im looking into purchasing a bike in april.  between now and then i will be trying to test out a few to see what best suits me.  im new to the bike world so i dont know much about them.  what is the differance in road bikes and tri bikes?  what brands should i consider up to the $1500 range? 

2009-02-17 10:42 PM
in reply to: #1967475

User image

Expert
Columbus
Subject: RE: first bike purchase

There was a great Giant featured in Bicycling this month in your range.

However - being CHEAP i was looking for $1500 or less and wound up buying a Schwinn Prelude off the rack in Target ($178).  I finished 13th overall in my first tri winning my age group and second overall in my second tri on this bike.  Granted I am a Runner and Swimmer first but I think the thing with the bike is it is YOUR weight and YOUR engine not the weight of the bike or type of components that is most important.

Edited by bruehoyt 2009-02-17 10:43 PM
2009-02-18 10:30 AM

User image

Master
North Alabama

I'm no expert, but I can lend a little info from my shopping.

I just recently purchased a Specialized Allez Sport and got out for $1300. It has the Shimano 105 components and seems to be all I need for starting out. That was my first road bike that I've ever purchased. Before my first tri, I'll put aero bars on it, and maybe change out the wheels. But for now, it gets me on the road and helps me train.

If you're just in the market, I'd steer clear of the tri bikes for now and think about aero bars on the road bike. The road bike will get you out riding and help you get miles. The tri bike will be extremely uncomfortable for new riders (or at least that's what all the LBS told me).