General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Weight Loss in Cycling Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-02-22 12:39 PM

User image

New user

OKLAHOMA
Subject: Weight Loss in Cycling

Hi my name is Andrew and I am new to the sport of Triathlon. I have been training for 3 months and am already obsessed with the sport and have not even competed in my first Sprint.

A little background on myself=I played 2 years of college baseball then made the transition to weight lifting/bodybuilding after an ulnar nerve issue that stopped me from being able to throw without my entire body hurting. I completely cut out cardiovascular excersises until last year. At that time I was 5 foot 8, 217 pounds, I am a muscular guy and always used that as an excuse for my weight. The truth is I was 26 years old, with high cholesterol a stressful job and was spiroling down hill. My wife comes from the opposite type of family, everyone ran in highschool and college and have a low level of muscle mass but very enduranced athletes. I started cycling from time to time with my father and brother in law because in my mind it would be easier than running. I started to enjoy the sport and after a few months of riding once a week or so I participated in a 30/50/65 mile local ride. This ride brought hundreds of people to my hometown.