General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike Shopping for really small person Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-03-28 3:58 PM

Regular
New York, NY
Subject: Bike Shopping for really small person
Hi--

Sorry to launch in with another bike-buying thread, but I've finally come to terms with the fact that I need to buy a road bike. I've been using a friend's hybrid, but it has made biking very arduous and not fun. To top it off, I am realizing the bike is way to big for me, and I think is causing me a great deal of hip pain.

So, I started looking around online and saw that some manufacturers (Specialized, Cannondale) have women-specific bikes. I am drawn to this option because I am only 4' 11" and 107 lbs, but am I just being duped by a marketing message? Is a women-specific bike a good idea for someone my size and level (I am a beginner cyclist, and looking to spend around $1,000 or less), or can I do just as well with the smallest size of a regular ole man's bike?

Secondly, what's the deal with wheel size? Some of the smaller sizes seem to come with smaller wheels (650 rather than 700), and one model was advertising themselves as having managed to put a 700 wheel on their smallest sized women's frame. Is the larger wheel really better? I've found some conflicting views online, some saying if you are smaller its better to have the smaller wheels, and others saying you can't go as fast (I am sure I am simplifying this, but that's what I recall).

Thanks for any advice!
--Jennifer

2005-03-28 5:13 PM
in reply to: #134923

User image

Extreme Veteran
San Jose, CA
Subject: RE: Bike Shopping for really small person
4'11? your a monster compared to my girlfriend (4'9")!!

we just went through this. It really is a terrible experience. I'll do my best to help that.

1) Its all about fit. Don't let anyone else tell you otherwise. The hip pain could be a million things, but it could very well be the bike is too big for your biomechanics.