General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Low carb diet during taper Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-04-02 10:50 AM

Extreme Veteran
Subject: Low carb diet during taper
Does anybody have any experience with switching to a low carb diet during your taper to get down to "race weight"? Someone has suggested that my daughter do this during the two weeks prior to her A races and her first A race is in 3 weeks. He said she should slowly back off the carbs in week one and drop everything white in week two. Also said to increase her fruits and vegetables, but have her eat meats in the quantity that she desires. I know this is a common practice with elite swimmers, but I have no experience with a prepubescent 12 year old. I do know that she will drop weight quickly from this diet because she lost 7 pounds when she had the flu last month. She just couldn't eat anything heavy so she ate mostly fruits, veggies, soups and chicken. She is 5'4" and weighs 125lbs, so she is a not overweight but does have a bit of fat around the mid-section, perfectly normal and expected for her age and biological development. Anybody have experience with this? Thanks.

2005-04-02 11:39 AM
in reply to: #137124

User image

Elite
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Subject: RE: Low carb diet during taper
Here's the problem I see. Glucose stores deplete in a day or two and if she does this for 2 weeks prior to a race, she will have no glucose stores in her body for the race. Carbs Carbs Carbs. They are you friend. Do away with carbs will result in a quick weight loss, but studies show the weight loss is only temporary for about 70% of individuals. These low carb diets are just fads, stay with the carbs.
2005-04-02 11:45 AM

User image

Not a Coach
Media, PA
I don't have much experience here, so hopefully you'll get a more informed answer.  But with that caveat, I would NOT do this.